My view about the modern Prometheus (or simply know as Frankenstein)

Image

Ok, I felt like writing this today ,I think I was bitten by a writers bug,I have not written anything for quite a while now so there might be a lot of spelling and punctuation mistakes so please bear with me ……

It was a quiet Monday afternoon ,when I was scavenging through my shelves looking for a certain book , “The adventures of Huckleberry Finn”,however, an another certain book caught my eye . An  unabridged copy of “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelly

Image

which I had borrowed from my school  library long back.

My interests aroused I began to read it ,which I must add kept be busy for 4 hours.The story as we all know was a gothic , horror  novel  one of the few works of its kind  published during 1818 about the fictional accounts of a Dr Frankenstein and is quest for creation and curiosity to know the unknown ,as a child when I read the book it looked like an another horror story to me.

But that was before the influence of manga, anime and other stories, this time, however, I was able to go a bit deeper  to understand the feeling of the good doctor and the poor soul which he gave life to,although  Victor Frankenstein was strong in his opinion as I read on I found himself to be cowardly after he created the so-called monster and instead of trying to make amends to rectify what he had done ,he ran away  giving the monster a sense of confusion and loneliness and later on  was branded as an outcast because of victor’s mistake. The book itself is written with the concept of Fear for the unknown,acceptance,idealism and finally revenge along with the concepts and taboo of galvanism ,grave robbery and of course Man’s ambition to be god himself

The book finally named as The Modern Prometheus does justice to the story the reason being  obvious   about every human to desire to be like the greek titan of creation Prometheus himself.

Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein was the start off point to many new ventures in the field of horror classics  her created  so-called  monster  would make appearances in later fiction over the years and becomes a cult icon and also, in my opinion, started the concept of robotics in real life and fiction and also the descriptions of  mecha(Japanese term for robot) in later fiction and manga

Leave a comment